Shikellamy Virtual Academy






Virtual Academy Student & Parent Notices


New Course System

The Shikellamy School District is now partnering with National Education Foundation (NEF) and will be using the GradPoint course system.

Virtual Academy students will still use the same Log-in and Password as before.

Click the link below to log-in to the new system on September 3rd, the first day of school.



Virtual Academy Log-In


Spanish & Chemistry Course Log-in

(For students in Chemistry & Spanish only)


Teachers & Electives

Now that Shikellamy switched to GradPoint, the Shikellamy teachers will be the teachers for the Virtual courses.

These teachers may be emailed by students/parents with course questions. All teachers will be responding during their morning homeroom period.


With the change in teachers, the Elective list is now limited. Not all electives of the past will be available. Student schedules may be adjusted in the beginning of the year.

Click the links below to see the courses that are offered:


Virtual Academy Courses Offered






Middle School Teachers

6th Grade EnglishMrs. Haskins
HaskinsP@shikbraves.org

6th Grade ScienceMr. Yohn
YohnM@shikbraves.org

7th & 8th Grade Science/EnglishMrs. Gittens
GittensR@shikbraves.org

MathMr. Specht
SpechtC@shikbraves.org

Social StudiesMrs. Witmer
WitmerL@shikbraves.org




High School Teachers


9th Grade EnglishMrs. Gittens
GittensR@shikbraves.org

English & FrenchMrs. Pennington
PenningtonK@shikbraves.org

ScienceMrs. Schmidt
SchmidtJ@shikbraves.org

MathMr. Geiswhite
GeiswhiteM@shikbraves.org

Social Studies/PsychologyMrs. Berger
BergerE@shikbraves.org

BusinessMr. Foor
FoorT@shikbraves.org

Career/CounselingMrs. Deitrich
DeitrichE@shikbraves.org

          
       Smart Futures logs can be sent to Mrs. Deitrich at:

                                    DeitrichE@shikbraves.org




Shikellamy Technology Department

570-286-3721 x 5106

*CHROMEBOOKS*- The Technology Help Desk is open from 7:30am-8:30am at the High School building. After 8:30am, you can reach Technology at the phone number listed above.







Any student who is having a problem with Flash in their virtual courses should follow the instructions in this link:


 





Technology & Chromebook Tips













For more information please contact:

Mr. Attinger
Virtual Academy Coordinator

virtualacademy@shikbraves.org







              




Virtual Academy Enrollment


All parents who would like to enroll their student should contact the school office for an enrollment form & meeting with their Guidance Counselor.

No students may begin the Virtual Academy until the form is processed and they are notified of a start date.



School Main Offices

Middle School Office - 570-286-3700 x 2442


High School Office - 570-286-3700 x 2360



Virtual Academy Links



                         Virtual Academy Log-In


                 
                         Spanish & Chemistry Course Log-in

(For students in Chemistry & Spanish only)



                                           Student Email



How to log in to Smart Futures

Username= Student ID number
Password= braves + graduation year
(example: braves2020)



Virtual Lab Hours 2019-2020
(Room 105)


Monday: 7:35am-2:35pm
Tuesday: 7:35am-2:35pm
Wednesday: 7:35am-2:35pm
Thursday: 7:35am-2:35pm
FridayCLOSED




Virtual Academy Staff

Mr. Attinger- Virtual Academy Coordinator
virtualacademy@shikbraves.org

Mrs. Gittens- Educational Support Teacher
gittensr@shikbraves.org

Ms. Pacheco- Educational Support Aide
pachecot@shikbraves.org


***Parent/Guardian Email Address***

All parents should have their email address on file with the Virtual Academy Office. Email is a main form of communication in online learning and will be used by the Online Teachers to send regular progress reports on your student.




All students and parents should read over the Virtual Academy handbook (in the link below) and follow up with any questions regarding the program.





SCHEDULING

Guidance Counselors will handle all schedules & scheduling questions for the Virtual Academy students



Guidance Counselors


High School Counselors (by student's last name)




(A-G) Mrs. Deitrich 
deitriche@shikbraves.org
570-286-3721 x 2368

(H-R) Mr. Coleman 
colemanf@shikbraves.org
570-286-3721 x 2370

(S-Z) Mr. Donlan 
donlanr@shikbraves.org
570-286-3721 x 2369


Middle School Counselor


 Mrs. Pfleegor 
pfleegorl@shikbraves.org
570-286-3721 x 2448



                                                                                                      


                           Student Activity Logs


 *ALL Virtual Academy students are required to keep a log of their Physical Activity for their Physical Education course.


                        Physical Education Activity Log

    
         *Physical Education Logs can be sent to 

               virtualacademy@shikbraves.org



*ONLY High School students are required to keep a log of their hours working on Smart Futures for their Career Exploration course.


                How to log in to Smart Futures

Username= Student ID number
Password= braves + graduation year
(example: braves2020)


                          Smart Futures Log-In





  Smart Futures logs can be sent to Mrs. Deitrich at:

                                    DeitrichE@shikbraves.org

                   

                         Activity Log Due Dates


             First Semester

              October 1st

              November 1st

              December 2nd

              January 6th

             Second Semester

              February 3rd

              March 2nd

              April 1st

              May 1st

              June 1st
                            



                  How To Edit the Student Activity Logs

            1) Click "File"
            2) Click "Make A Copy"
            3) Rename your Activity Log
            4) Begin typing your activity into the document